Asia Artist Awards 2018 officially closed the voting poll, the winners are different from 2017

After two months of intense competition, the fandom battle at AAA 2018 has officially ended!

Just in 1 week, 2018 Asia Artist Awards (AAA 2018) will officially take place. As with other year-end awards in Korea, Asia Artist Awards has attracted the attention of many fans, especially for the fan vote category named Fan’s Popularity Award. By choosing the winner entirely from the audience’s vote, Fan’s Popularity Award has become an uncompromising fight between the fandoms over the past two months.

Starting to vote from September 20, undergoing three rounds of intense polls, the race for the winner of Fan’s Popularity Award has officially ended. From the initial 200 candidates for each category, AAA 2018 has identified the final winners. And compared to the results in 2017, we will be greeted with three new winners for Singer, Actor and Actress category for the section 100% determined by fans’ votes.

For the singer chart, surprise did not happen compared to the results updated one week ago. BTS has officially become the new winner of 2018 Asia Artist Awards, with more than 5.4 million votes. Meanwhile, despite of their best efforts in the last three rounds, it is a pity that fans still cannot help EXO to win in this category. The boygroup from SM came in second with over 5.1 million votes in the final poll of AAA 2018.

Meanwhile, a big surprise happened at No. 3when the legendary group H.O.T has surpassed Wanna One in the last days thanksto the relentless efforts of fans. Although HOT’s rise was not influenced bythe singer’s overall results, their performance once again proved that thefandom power of the senior was certainly not inferior to the new generation,especially when this Kpop legend group has just reunited this year.

Although not being able to keep the top spotin the singer’s chart for EXO, the EXO-L community can still rejoice with whatthey achieve in the male cast. Sehun is the winner of the final round, withmore than 543,000 votes cast. This is more than double the number of votes ofthe runner-up, Jang Geun Suk (more than 229,000 votes), who used to defeat himin the second round.

In the 2017 poll, the winner of this category is D.O. – another member of EXO. This year, D.O. stopped at No. 6, and many believe it was the fans who voted for Sehun. In addition, other acting idols have good results, including 2 PM’s Junho (4th), INFINITE’s L (8th) or Jinyoung (B1A4).

Finally, the female actress chart also has anew champion compared to 2017. With more than 1.3 million votes (52% of thevote), IU became the winner. Meanwhile, the champion of last year’s, YoonA(SNSD), now ranks second with more than 989,000 votes, although she led thepolls of both previous polls.

A few days ago, the YoonA fan communitycomplained that her votes were unexpectedly subtracted. Regardless of whetherthe fans repeatedly request for a clear explanation, the AAA 2018 organizersdid not give any feedback. As a result, YoonA fans decided to boycott thisaward after spending too much to vote for the idol but received a lack oftransparency. Many believe that the boycott of the fans in the last days is thereason why YoonA’s final votes are so far from that of IU.

Here are the final results for each of the Fan’s Popularity Award categories at the 2018 Asia Artist Awards!


1. BTS

2. EXO

3. H.O.T

4. Wanna One



7. GOT7

8. iKON

9. Sechs Kies

10. SNSD


1. Sehun (EXO)

2. Jang Geun Suk

3. Lee Seung Gi

4. Lee Junho (2PM)

5. Lee Jun Ki

6. Do Kyung Soo (D.O.) (EXO)

7. Jung Hae In

8. Kim Myung Soo (L) (INFINITE)

9. Jinyoung (B1A4)

10. Park Seo Joon


1. IU/Lee Ji Eun

2. YoonA (SNSD)

3. Song Ji Hyo

4. Kwon Yuri (SNSD)

5. Park Min Young

6. Kim Yoo Jung

7. Seohyun (SNSD)

8. Jung Chaeyeon (DIA)

9. Kim Hyun Joo

10. Han Hyo Joo

The 2018 Asia Artist Awards will take place onNovember 28th at Namdong Gymnasium, Incheon, Korea. So far, more than 50 Koreansingers, musicians, and actors have confirmed to participate in the awardsshow. The upcoming MC’s will be Leeteuk (Super Junior) and Lee Sung Kyung.

Source: tinnhac

Back to top button