2022 Baeksang nominees for TV category spark controversy: Han So Hee is up for Best Actress, Hometown Cha-Cha-Cha gets snubbed 

The 58th Baeksang Arts Awards has announced the nominations in the TV drama category. 

The 58th Baeksang Arts Awards will reportedly take place on May 6. Earlier today (April 11), the nominees were announced and immediately drew mixed reactions from the audience, mainly in the TV drama category.

Hometown Cha-Cha-Cha, a successful drama that was expected to score many Baeksang nominations, ends up completely missing from the list of nominees. In the Best Actor – Best Actress awards, the appearance of Han So Hee and Im Si Wan next to other famous or veteran actors, has also caused controversy.

Baeksang Arts Awards

TV Category

  • Best Director:
  1. Yoon Sung Ho (Political Fever)
  2. Lee Na Jung (Mine)
  3. Jung Ji In (The Red Sleeve)
  4. Han Jun Hee (D.P.)
  5. Hwang Dong Hyuk (Squid Game)
  • Best scenario:
  1. Kim Min Seok (Juvenile Justice)
  2. Kim Hong Gi, Park Noo Ri, Choi Sung Jin, Yoon Sung Ho (Political Fever)
  3. Baek Mi Kyung (Mine)
  4. Lee Na Eun (Our Beloved Summer)
  5. Hwang Dong Hyuk (Squid Game)
  • Best TV series:
  1. D.P.
  2. Twenty Five Twenty One
  3. Squid Game
  4. The Red Sleeve
  5. Going To The Blue House Like This
  • Best Actress (TV):
  1. Kim Tae Ri (2521)
  2. Kim Hye Soo (Juvenile Justice)
  3. Park Eun Bin (The King’s Affection)
  4. Lee Se Young (The Red Sleeve)
  5. Han So Hee (My Name)
  • Best Actor (TV)
  1. Kim Nam Gil (Cross Black)
  2. Lee Jung Jae (Squid Game)
  3. Lee Jun Ho (The Red Sleeve)
  4. Im Si Wan (Tracer)
  5. Jung Hae In (D.P.)
  • Best Supporting Actor:
  1. Lee Deok Hwa (The Red Sleeve)
  2. Lee Hak Joo (Political Fever)
  3. Lee Hyun Wook (Mine)
  4. Jo Hyun Chul (D.P.)
  5. Heo Sung Tae (Squid Game)
  • Best Supporting Actress:
  1. Kang Mal Geum (Thirty Nine)
  2. Kim Shin Rok (Hellbound)
  3. Kim Joo Ryung (Squid Game)
  4. Ok Ja Yeon (Mine)
  5. Jang Hye Jin (The Red Sleeve)
  • Best New Actress (TV):
  1. Kim Hye Jun (Inspector Koo)
  2. Lee Yeon (Juvenile Justice)
  3. Lee Yoo Mi (All Of Us Are Dead)
  4. Jung Ho Yeon (Squid Game)
  5. Cho Yi Hyun (All Of Us Are Dead)
  • Best New Actor (TV)
  1. Koo Kyo Hwan (D.P.)
  2. Shin Seung Ho (D.P.)
  3. Yoo In Soo (All Of Us Are Dead)
  4. Choi Hyun Wook (2521)
  5. Tang Jun Sang (Racket Boys)
Han So Hee

The audience is arguing fiercely about the nomination list. Many people believe that this list was created to determine the award for an individual/drama, not a competition. Many people think that this year’s Baeksang chose the dramas that are popular online instead of caring about their quality. The audience also felt resentment for some names that were not nominated, especially Lee Je Hoon and Nam Goong Min.

Audience’s comments:

  • This year’s Baeksang judges the award based on the drama’s reputation on social media
  • HomeCha, Move To Heaven, Through The Darkness, Hospital Playlist, Lee Je Hoon, Nam Goong Min are all not nominated. Wow!
  • Like a joke
  • Surprisingly, Han So Hee and Lee Se Young are even higher appreciated than Jeon Do Yeon and Son Ye Jin

Show More

Related Articles

Back to top button